About Maiwar

Maiwar is an electoral district of the Legislative Assembly in the Australian state of Queensland, incorporating the inner western suburbs of Brisbane. It was created in the 2017 redistribution, and was first contested at the 2017 Queensland state election. Maiwar is one of the many Indigenous names for the Brisbane River, which is the southern boundary of the electorate.[1]

It largely replaces areas of the abolished districts of Mount Coot-Tha and Indooroopilly, north of the Brisbane River. Maiwar consists of the suburbs of Mount Coot-tha, Bardon, Auchenflower, Toowong, Taringa, Indooroopilly, St Lucia and Fig Tree Pocket.[1]

Sign up for updates