Skip navigation

Keep Toowong Green Spaces Open

UPDATE: On Thursday 21 May 2020 I met the Minister for Education in Parliament House, and she gave me a commitment in writing that no fencing around the oval will be built before a full community consultation process about access to green space - which will happen after the construction work is finished.

The Minister has also personally committed to full community access to the school-owned green space until consultation is finished. That includes the oval and Toowong Creek. Access to Vera St Community Garden and the attached Vera St Common will of course continue.


Toowong and Taringa residents are deeply concerned about existing and future restrictions on access to much-loved green space, walking and cycling routes at Queensland Academy for Science Mathematics and Technology (QASMT). 

These restrictions or proposed restrictions include:

  • Closure of the gate on Vera St for access to Vera St Community Garden
  • The proposed fence around the QASMT campus south of Toowong Creek including the main school oval
  • Proposed restrictions on the use of walking and cycling routes across the campus, including the route along Toowong Creek from Bywong and Vera St to Miskin St, and the route from Dampier St to Miskin St. 
  • Closure of the pedestrian bridge over Toowong Creek in Soudan St 

There are some temporary restrictions on access while QASMT finishes a construction project, and there may be some changes required by COVID-19 rules and social distancing. The community wants to make sure any restrictions on access are not permanent. 

Generations of families and local kids have treasured these quiet green spaces, especially along Toowong Creek. 

Local people have been allowed to access this site since the 1800s when it was the residence of Sir Arthur Palmer, the 7th Premier of Queensland. The site was bequeathed to the Queensland government on the understanding that public access be maintained. For years local residents have used the ovals and green space and have walked and cycled along the pathway along Toowong Creek. 

Today, that pathway is designated as a “Secondary Cycle Route” on the Brisbane City Council’s Bicycle Network Overlay Map. That status shows just how deeply integrated this space is in our community. 

The Queensland Academy for Science Mathematics and Technology is an important part of the Toowong and Taringa community. Residents are seeking to maintain a respectful and constructive relationship with the school, staff and students, some of whom are also locals.

I have written to the Education Minister on 29 April 2020 and again on 7 May 2020 advocating long-term community access. You can read my letter hereI have also written to Councillor James Mackay and the Lord Mayor to make sure Brisbane City Council protects the Council-designated Secondary Cycle Route which runs from Vera and Soudan St along Toowong Creek to Miskin St. 

For interested residents, here is a copy of the title search and survey plan for the QASMT site. 

I and my office have been deeply engaged with the construction at QASMT for years now. On 9 November 2018 I made a detailed submission on the original development plans under the Ministerial Infrastructure Designation. The approved development plans explicitly stated that the Minister understood that public access to the site would be maintained. I wrote to the Principal back in November 2018 on the question of public access to and through the site. 


1,000 Signatures

1,221 Signatures

Will you sign?

To the Queensland Education Minister, we request that you: 

(1) Ensure local residents can continue accessing our much-loved green space including the Vera St Community Garden, Toowong Creek and the school oval outside school hours. 

(2) Ensure locals can continue to use the walking and cycling route along Toowong Creek and along the southern side of the campus.

Read More

Showing 969 reactions

  • Lilly Moser
    signed via 2020-08-05 22:35:03 +1000
  • Helen Breslin
    signed via 2020-07-11 09:15:04 +1000
  • Eileen Salisbury
    signed via 2020-06-28 08:45:01 +1000
  • Tiarne Shutt
    signed 2020-06-15 14:32:17 +1000
  • Mark Gallagher
    signed 2020-06-15 09:59:10 +1000
  • Lizzie Prins
    signed 2020-06-02 13:34:42 +1000
  • Sarah Dreaver
    signed 2020-05-26 08:24:40 +1000
  • Bonnie Ross
    signed 2020-05-25 18:16:58 +1000
  • Sarah Oakley
    signed 2020-05-24 21:19:54 +1000
  • Maelene Kane
    signed 2020-05-24 21:16:44 +1000
  • Shaka Kane
    signed 2020-05-24 21:15:53 +1000
  • Wendy Auton
    signed 2020-05-24 15:34:15 +1000
  • Tony Canning
    signed 2020-05-22 13:38:45 +1000
  • Layne Mostyn
    signed via 2020-05-21 19:41:19 +1000
  • Richard Bell
    signed 2020-05-21 08:21:11 +1000
  • John Rowell
    signed via 2020-05-21 08:08:20 +1000
  • Grahame Robertson
    signed via 2020-05-20 21:28:06 +1000
  • Kate Davison
    signed via 2020-05-20 17:53:51 +1000
  • Mike Rowell
    signed 2020-05-20 17:19:12 +1000
  • Emma Davison
    signed via 2020-05-20 14:15:58 +1000
  • Warren Hewitt
    signed via 2020-05-20 12:26:28 +1000
  • Victoria Storck
    signed via 2020-05-20 10:35:49 +1000
  • Malcolm Duthie
    signed via 2020-05-20 10:34:45 +1000
  • Allan Riesz
    signed 2020-05-20 08:47:08 +1000
  • Brian Pokarier
    signed 2020-05-20 08:06:58 +1000
  • Erin Schmidt
    signed 2020-05-20 06:01:14 +1000
  • Liz Adams
    signed 2020-05-19 21:48:47 +1000
  • Luke Davison
    signed 2020-05-19 21:22:56 +1000
  • Peter Dun
    signed 2020-05-19 20:30:25 +1000
  • Jenny Riesz
    signed 2020-05-19 19:42:19 +1000